Pitstop in Phoenix

Greetings from Phoenix, Arizona!

My wife is here for a teachers conference and I got to come along for a mini-break and a trip to the Grand Canyon. I have never been there before so tomorrow is sure to be an experience! There will undoubtedly be hundreds of photos to share with you after our visit. For now I’ve brought you a few snapshots of the lovely Airbnb place we are staying in – complete with hammock, fire-pit, and a chicken coop full of lovely chickens! The owners are very handy and have made quite a lot of the furniture and outdoor spaces themselves – even a living picnic table with succulents and drop box for the root systems to grow underneath the table. Brilliant!

Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2014.

Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2014.

Henhouse (far left), fire-pit, our guesthouse, and the main house with garden.

I’ve never spent quite so much time in close proximity with chickens but they are so fascinating to me – the way they look at you from the side – staring you down with that one little eye and then casually walk away. A few in the coop are shy and others are quite boisterous when I come out to visit them. I’ve been playing Mozart and Strauss all morning on my Songza app while I work. The piece that got the most reaction from the henhouse was, “The Blue Danube (An der schönen blauen Donau)” performed by the Vienna Philharmonic. A few hens were running up a storm and clucking until it was over. Who knew!?

Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2014.

Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2014.

Here are some more views of their gardens & plant life. You can feel how much pride they take in their home space just by walking through the garden and back into the yard. What an accomplishment – it makes me wish for more green space at our home in San Francisco. Someday hopefully we can have more backyard/outdoor space to thrive in.

IMG_0927 wm

Hummingbird Feeder

IMG_0979 wm

IMG_0998 wm

IMG_0920 wm

Cactus

Now I’ve got to get back to work but I’ll share photos of the Grand Canyon after I return to SF! Happy Sunday! x Kersh

Leave a Reply

