This is She: Androgyny Photoshoot with Ari Fitz

What happens when you blur the lines between classically feminine and definitively masculine? Androgyny happens.
A week ago I opened my studio doors to Ari Fitz a fierce new face with a modeling agency here in SF. She brought a true dream team of artists with her. On hair we have Sasha Galloway-Gonce and for a fabulous face, MUA Josie Rodriguez. In the shoot you’ll see boots by Steve Madden, jeans by RVCA, and a dapper time piece by NIXON. We combined Fitz’s wardrobe with some of my own items including a black bow-tie, bomber jacket from H & M, and a vintage tuxedo jacket with tails.
Photos by Betsy Kershner, 2013.
Using an inspiration board made by Ari we were able to generate an entire mood and direction for the shoot. Our goal: to be as androgynous as possible. Sasha created two über chic hairstyles: a clean, slicked back look and a pompadour and Josie gave us a strong, masculine cheekbone, dark eyebrows, and basic lips.
Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2013.
Looking back into my own life, I have always gravitated towards menswear, style, and wardrobe. In college I adored looking at film stills of Katharine Hepburn in 1935’s Sylvia Scarlett — full suit, short hair–she even kisses a girl! (Way before Katy Perry ladies & gents…long before). I struggled with my personal identity and style for only a short time before comfortably accepting that I wore what I wore not because I could, but because it worked for me. My tall body, skinny torso and tiny shoulders – even though most men’s blazers are too wide for me, I found brands that work, fit, and make me feel great as I strut down the street.
When we began planning this project together, Ari mentioned how important it was to her to have a photographer behind the camera who understood what it meant to be androgynous and who knew how to combine the fluidity of fashion, gender, and style into one photoshoot. Androgyny can describe a feminine man, a masculine woman, or a person who does not fall into one or the other but is still beautiful or handsome in their own way.
Today, I am thrilled to be presenting such a personal project to you – – without further ado I give you the one and only, handsome devil, Ari Fitz.
Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2013.
Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2013.
Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2013
Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2013.
Photo by Betsy Kershner, 2013.
A huge thank you to everyone who made this shoot really incredible – – cheers!
x Kersh
Leave a Reply

