To Love You

© Betsy Kershner, 2013.

Ladies & gents – this is my lovely wife, Toby. I haven’t posted anything with her before on my blog (which is surprising, because she’s probably the person I photograph the most). She spruced up her haircut tonight with some highlights and when she came home my lights were still up from my shoot with Debbie & Paul earlier today.

At the beginning of our relationship together, we used to take photos of each other all the time – it was totally a trip back in time tonight – it felt like the old days – our young, honeymoon, can’t-get-enough-of-you phase that lasted for months and months. I think Toby’s whole final year of grad school was a honeymoon period for us, because we were so overjoyed to have found each other. For those of you that don’t know us personally, Toby and I met via OkCupid in the spring of 2009. I was living in Philadelphia and she was living in San Francisco. She had made a strict rule for herself NOT to date or even look at profiles of women outside of the Bay Area. However, I’m very lucky to have stumbled upon her profile first — something about her eyes spoke to me. “I am honest, I am sincere, I am wonderful, and I am right here!”  I couldn’t resist looking at her profile and before I knew it we were writing long messages back and forth to each other. None of them ever seemed to stay on topic, but that’s alright. One night we wrote about movies that scared us, the next: our favorite foods. We couldn’t get enough – so then she invited me to talk on video chat with her. Skype wasn’t really big yet (for our generation) – and gmail had just introduced video calls. The minute we saw each other on video it was as if someone had flipped a switch! Lights, camera, action! We had found each other! About a month later I planned a trip to SF and met Toby for the first time. That summer we flew back and forth across the country to make the distance bearable and in the fall, I permanently relocated myself, my camera, and a suitcase of possessions, to San Francisco.

If you want to hear more of the story of how we met you can read our SuccessStory on OkCupid.

© Betsy Kershner, 2013.

© Betsy Kershner, 2013.

© Betsy Kershner, 2013.

Lots of love from us to you, on this sleepy Tuesday night!

If you’re reading this and you’re out there somewhere, still looking for love – you’ll find it! Just be patient — everything happens for a reason and when the timing is right. First you must love and respect yourself. Then love will find you.

xo Kersh

Leave a Reply

