35 Days in Photos

Dear Readers, friends, and family – below you’ll find a visual account of the last 35 days of my life. You won’t find a photo for every single day but you will see lots of events that occurred between February 16th and March 22nd. In no particular order I present to you some of the highlights of my photographic life… enjoy!

AYAKA ISONO:

By far one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met and had the pleasure of working with. Ayaka Isono graduated from The San Francisco Conservatory of Music in 1998 –an accomplished and talented pianist and accompanist. Then tragically in 2001 she lost her sight to a rare retinal disorder. Now completely blind Ayaka plays all of her music using braille and from memory. Her musicianship is astounding and optimism contagious. After we met briefly in October of 2010 we didn’t see each other until this spring when a need for photos came up. Right before Christmas Ayaka contacted me and explained that the National Library of Congress needed photos of her for a project. I jumped at the idea of working with Ayaka and here you have the result of our collaboration. Ayaka and I discussed opera, babies, lullabies, and life as we took photos that day in her East Bay home. It was an honor to work with such a talented artist & now, friend.

Pianist, Ayaka Isono.

For more information about Ayaka and her upcoming performances visit: Ayaka Isono, Official Website

In the beginning of March I had the pleasure to take in my second professional performance of my favorite opera. Did you guess it? Puccini’s Madama Butterfly! This time the performance was at Livermore Valley Opera with the brilliant Alexander Katsman and Sara Nealy helping me get acquainted to the beautiful theater in Livermore and the LVO family.

MADAMA BUTTERFLY with LIVERMORE VALLEY OPERA:

OHIO TRIP

In February I went to Ohio to visit the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music and Ohio State University to take headshots for a variety of singers I met this previous summer in Spoleto, Italy through the CCM Spoleto Program. The results were incredible! I only had 3 days in my entire trip. 1 day at CCM, 1 day at OSU and 1 day flying back to San Francisco so everything had to happen quickly. Check out my friends Yoongeong, Tim, and Katie from CCM:

More coming soon…I have to get ready for my shoot at 10:45 am with the talented Melinda Becker & Rebekah Kenote. Then at 12 noon a photoshoot for Bloomspot.com at a jazzy Pilates Studio!

x Kersh

Leave a Reply

